Home > Useful Tips > Palm Pre and Pixi for TOTAL Beginners!

Palm Pre and Pixi for TOTAL Beginners!

A while back, I wrote an article titled “How to: Get Ringtones on your Palm Pre.”  It had a lot of good stuff on there about… well, setting up ringtone! I also wrote about simple, safe, and easy fixes for the Palm Pre’s most common problems.  But as I helped beginners with their Palm Pre’s, I noticed how lot of people felt TOTALLY LOST on doing even the most BASIC functions (like copy/paste… hello?), even after having owned it for a while!
.
Fear not, friends, because TOTALLY PALMED is your mejor amigo. … That’s “best friend” in Spanish…… never mind.  Read on after the break to see cool videos on how to work your new Pre or Pixi.

These videos are pretty self-explanatory and won’t require any of my commentary. But efore we start, some things you should know. First, these videos are already on your Palm Pre or Pixi. All you have to do is tap the “Help” icon in the launcher and tap on “Clips.” (These videos are streamed to you, so you’ll need an internet connection to view ’em.)  Second, Palm released a FREE app app in the App catalog called “Palm Videos.” Download it, and you can watch these videos on your phone!

For those wondering, “where’s the stinkin’ user manual?!” Here is the Sprint user manual, and here is the Verizon user manual. You’re welcome.

Okay so let’s get right to it!

In order, here are the help topics below:
1) Very basic overview of the Pre, courtesy of Sprint
2) Basic tutorial on using the Palm Pre with gestures
3) Basic tutorial on setting up and using email
4) Basic tutorial on setting up calendars and contacts
5) Basic Messaging/IM Tutorial
6) How do I… use Universal Search?
7) How do I… do multitasking on my phone?
8 ) How do I… move my cursor around and highlight text?
9) How do I… COPY/PASTE?
10) How do I… remove the back cover to switch out the battery?
11) How do I… make a conference call on the Palm Pre?
12) How do I… learn everything ELSE there is to know about the Palm Pre?

1) Very basic overview of the Pre:


2) Basic tutorial on using the Palm Pre with gestures:


3) Basic tutorial on setting up and using email:


4) Basic tutorial on setting up calendars and contacts:


5) Basic Messaging/IM Tutorial:

6)  How do I use Universal Search?

7) How do I multitask on my phone?

8 ) How do I move my cursor and highlight text?

9) How do I copy/paste?

10) How do I remove the back cover to change the battery?

11) How do I make a conference call on the Palm Pre?

12) How do I… learn everything there is to know about the Palm Pre and Palm Pixi?

Why, by reading TOTALLY PALMED, of course!  😉

Also, make SURE you check out Precentral.net. This place is THE AUTHORITY on all things Palm. There are other great websites as well:

webOSroundup.com

Pre101.com

Everythingpre.com

Prethinking.com

PalmInfocenter.com



That’s it! I hope these videos help some of you. Mad props to akitayo for posting all these videos on YouTube… it made my job a whole lot easier! 🙂  Stay tuned for more tips!

Categories: Useful Tips
  1. Chris Stalker
    December 29, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Great post! Enjoy following you on twitter , keep up the great work! – @kingofwireless

  2. February 19, 2010 at 4:26 am

    I noticed that from video #7 (How do I multitask on my phone?) on down that there was absolutely no audio whatsoever. While I was able to figure out some of the information just from watching the videos over and over (especially the one on how to conference call), having an audio track would have been most helpful.

    • February 19, 2010 at 6:03 am

      Hi Ben! I’m afraid you’re mistaken? Video #7 DOES have audio. (Just finished testing it). The last three do not, but are pretty self-explanatory. Perhaps you need to adjust the settings of your player or computer? If you need any help at all just look for me on Twitter or leave another comment. Happy to lend a hand.

  1. February 11, 2010 at 5:25 am
  2. February 13, 2010 at 5:45 am

Leave a Reply

